On Apostasy and Atheism

Hello everybody!

This semester (which already ended) we have this Philosophy subject; Philosophy of Man. I dont really know what is this subject all about, but I do think that it revolves on everything related to Man and the wisdom accustomed to it, one of which is the discussion of Love, Aspirations, Death, Life, Beliefs and the like.

Although I wish our Philosophy teacher should have discussed us the topic of love, there’s this topic that roused my mind and made me ponder and sight some of my opinion on the topic. The topic is:

Theism and Atheism.

First of all, you all probably know what is theism and atheism, to those who havent, theism is the belief in gods or other deities, atheism on the other hand is disbelief in gods or other deities.

We made a report about this 2 weeks ago, usingthis site as our reference (wikipedia is just too complicated!) I wont cite the whole article on that matter so just read it there if you want to know more about atheism.

Here is my opinion on Atheism and Theism.

Having gown up in a catholic family and a catholic community, I was exposed to the very being that I believed in and set my life on. I questioned most of the people if they had ever seen or met God, some say they havent, some say they did, some say its the very reason they’re living (to meet God), His existence kept strong by the local media, traditions, and the Church.

I for one believed he existed for many reasons: first, I was afraid of going to hell, second, the Church and the community taught that he exists and His existence is beyond human capacity to understand thus it is called aMystery, Third, I needed to believe in Him because if I didnt I might be assumed to be a satanist, pretty much any reason except feeling His true presence.

There are times I do feel His presence, that He is there and I know He loves me (though Im gay). Im not an atheist, nor am I a fully devoted Christian. I might say Im torn between but I think Im on the right path, making it my own, cleaving my own path possibly someone must have done before.

I believe in God, but I dont believe in the Church. No, Im not against the Church or anything derived from it. I dont believe in the sacred powers religion has to offer,all I know is that I know God, he exists, he loves me and I love him. I dont need anyone to tell me how to get near him or what should I do to be saved, like I should be this, I should be that, I shouldnt be like this or I should be like that.

People might say Im just confused or underdeveloped or anything in between, but that’s what I have understood, its my opinion, no one can change that. All I know is that God exists, and I dont need religion to tell me what to do just to get to Him, he’s already with me, loving me, staying with me, never forsaking me.

Oh and another thing, if I say that I dont believe in religion, people would then treat me as an outcast. They begin to transform like hypocrites creating borders thoroughly deviating you, like you are really different and you’re not one of them. But the idea of religion is just nonsensical 😐

I have a lot of things to discover since Im still in an early age.

This is my stand, till now 🙂

Comments are welcome. Please dont add any offensive comments. Offensive comments will be removed.

~Lots of Love

~With Orange Colored Skies.

~xGaetana

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

